KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

REGULAR BOARD MEETING #1

The minutes of the Inaugural Regular Board Meeting of the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board Tuesday, November 14, 2023, In-person at Open Roads Public School, Dryden.

Call to Order	The meeting was called to order at 7.03 pm.		
Land Acknowledgement			
Roll Call	Denise Baxter Roger Griffiths Rory McMillan Judi Green	Dave Cornish Gerald Kleist Dave Penney Demitrius Baker, IST	Marilyn Duncalfe Teika Newton Steve Poling Reina Naumann, ST
Absent with Regret	Noreen Van Breda		
Absent without Regret	Nil		
Officials	C. Radbourne R. Findlay J. Marion	S. Pilipishen C. Moore S. Bailey	Exec. Asst
Also Present	Media, Staff, and the	Interested Public	
Item 4 - Agenda Motion #01-24	Moved by: S. Poling Seconded by: D. Penney THAT the agenda for the Regular Board Meeting of November 14, 2023, be approved, as amended. Item 5A – Business Arising from the Committee of the Whole – Notice of Motion – proposed changes to the Operational By-Laws for approval at the Regular Board meeting December 12, 2023.		
			Carried

Item 5 Conflict of None Interest

Item 5A	Business Arising from the Committee of the Whole Notice of Motion - proposed changes to the Operati By-Laws for approval at the Regular Board meeting December 12, 2023.	
Item 6 6.01 Motion #02-24	Appointment of Scrutineers Moved by: D. Baxter Seconded by: T. Newton THAT the Superintendent of Business, Richard Fine and the Superintendent of Education, Shannon Bai designated as Scrutineers, if required , in the select process of the offices of the Chair and Vice-Chair for Keewatin Patricia District School Board.	ley, be tion
Item 7 Motion #03-24	Nominations for Chair of the Board Moved by: R. McMillan Seconded by: D. Penney THAT Roger Griffiths be nominated for the position Chair of the Board.	Carried of
Motion #04-24	Moved by: D. Cornish Seconded by: D. Baxter THAT the nominations for the position of Chair of th Board be closed.	
Item 8	Chair of the Board Remarks Roger Griffiths affirmed he would accept the positio Chair of the Board	Carried on of
Item 9	Nominations for Vice-Chair of the Board David Cornish and Judi Green were nominated.	

	KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING November 14, 2023
Motion #05-24	Moved by: D. Baxter Seconded by: T. Newton THAT the nominations for the position of the Vice Chair of the Board be closed.
	Carried
Item 10	Vice-Chair of the Board Remarks Judi Green affirmed she would accept the position of Vice- Chair of the Board.
Item 11-Destroy Ballots Motion #06-24	Moved by: D. Baxter Seconded by: S. Poling THAT the ballots for the election of Vice-Chair of the Board be destroyed.
	Carried
Item 12 Motion #07-24	Confirmation of Minutes Moved by: D. Cornish Seconded by: M. Duncalfe THAT the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of October 10, 2023, having been duly circulated, be confirmed.
	Carried
Item 13 13.01 Motion #08-24	Presentation of Reports Moved by: T. Newton Seconded by: J. Green THAT the Students Come First presentation by Open Roads Public School be received.

Carried

KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING November 14, 2023

Students Come First

A. Open Roads Public School *The Power of Empower*

- Principal, Brad Bartlett
- Vice-Principal, Allison Hyatt
- Arin Boyko, SERT
- Karen Kudlacek, Instructional Coach
- Ethan Card, Gr 4 student
- Kael Orlowski, Gr 4 student
- Megan Gadd, Laura Heitto, Parents

B. New SEAC Member Applications Motion #09-24

Moved by: D. Penney Seconded by: R. McMillan THAT Karen Foster, and alternate Michelle McMahon, representing Kenora Chiefs Advisory, and Suzanne Webber and alternate Stacey Socholotuk, representing Kenora Association for Community Living, be appointed to the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC).

Carried

C. Director's Monthly Report **Motion #10-24**

Moved by: M. Duncalfe Seconded by: J. Green THAT the Director of Education, Christy Radbourne's verbal monthly report be received.

Carried

13.02A – Student	
Trustee reports	Мо
Motion #11-24	Se

Moved by: G. Kleist Seconded by: J. Green THAT the Student Trustees' verbal reports be received.

Carried

13.02B- Trustee Appointments to Committees Motion #12-24	Moved by: D. Cornish Seconded by: R. McMillan THAT the verbal report on the Trustee Appointments to Committees, for a one-year-term, be received.
	Carried
Motion #13-24	Moved by: M. Duncalfe Seconded by: D. Baxter THAT Malcolm (Rory) McMillan be appointed to the Executive Committee for the period November 15, 2023 to April 12, 2024, and that Steve Poling be appointed to the Executive Committee for the period of April 13, 2024 to November 14, 2024.
	Carried
Motion #14-24	Moved by: S. Poling Seconded by: T. Newton THAT David Penney be appointed to the Trustee Code of Conduct Committee, and that Malcolm (Rory) McMillan be appointed as the Alternate to the Trustee Code of Conduct Committee.
	Carried
Motion #15-24	Moved by: R. McMillan Seconded by: T. Newton THAT David Cornish, Marilyn Duncalfe, and David Penney be appointed to the Audit and Finance Committees.

Carried

Motion #16-24Moved by: D. Penney
Seconded by: M. Duncalfe

THE KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD PUTS STUDENTS FIRST BY CREATING A CULTURE OF LEARNING.

THAT Denise Baxter, Malcolm (Rory) McMillan and Teika Newton be appointed to the Indigenous Education Advisory Committee (IEAC).

Carried

Motion #17-24 Moved by: S. Poling Seconded by: D. Cornish THAT Judi Green, Gerald Kleist, and Norine Van Breda be appointed to the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC), and that Denise Baxter be appointed as the Alternate to the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC).

Carried

Motion #18-24 Moved by: T. Newton Seconded by: S. Poling THAT Marilyn Duncalfe and Norine Van Breda be appointed to the Early Years Advisory Committee (EYAC).

Carried

Motion #19-24 Moved by: D. Baxter Seconded by: D. Penney THAT Teika Newton and Judi Green be appointed to the Parent Involvement Committee (PIC).

Carried

Motion #20-24 Moved by: M. Duncalfe Seconded by: R. McMillan THAT Steve Poling be appointed to the Supervised Alternative Learning Committee (SAL), and that David Penney be appointed as the Alternate to the Supervised Alternative Learning Committee (SAL).

THE KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD PUTS STUDENTS FIRST BY CREATING A CULTURE OF LEARNING.

Carried

Motion #21-24Moved by: J. Green
Seconded by: S. Poling
THAT Steve Poling be appointed to the Transportation
Policy Committee, and that Norine Van Breda be appointed
as the Alternate to the Transportation Policy Committee.

Carried

Motion #22-24Moved by: R. McMillan
Seconded by: D. Penney
THAT David Cornish be appointed to the OPSBA Board of
Directors, and that Gerald Kleist be appointed as the
Alternate to the OPSBA Board of Directors.

Carried

Motion #23-24 Moved by: S. Poling Seconded by: D. Baxter THAT David Cornish be appointed as the OPSBA voting delegate, and that Gerald Kleist be appointed as the Alternate to the OPSBA voting delegate.

Carried

- 13.03 Finance/Audit Nil
- 13.04 Human Resources Nil
- 13.05 Operations Nill
- 13.06 Committee Updates Nil

Item 14 Nil Correspondence Item 15 New Business Nil Item 16 Observer Nil Comments Item 17 Next Meeting December 12, 2023 Item 18 Adjournment Motion #24-24 Moved by: R. McMillan Seconded by: D. Cornish THAT the Inaugural Board Meeting of November 14, 2023 adjourn at 8:04 p.m.

Carried

January 9, 2024

Date

Chair, R. Griffiths

January 9, 2024 Chutz K. R. Chuta ate Secretary, C. Radbourne

THE KEEWATIN-PATRICIA DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD PUTS STUDENTS FIRST BY CREATING A CULTURE OF LEARNING.

Date